Buenos dias from San José! (MAILING ADDRESS INCLUDED)

Good morning from San Jose!

I have to first begin saying THANK YOU to all of those who have texted, called or facebooked me to wish me a safe journey. I appreciate those sweet words more than you and I know my mom does as well! I am happy to say I have arrived in Costa Rica at last! And WOW was it a rush when I walked off the plane. I made it through customs in a flash and was greeted my coordinated driver within 2 minutes of leaving the airport. Costa Rica also greeted me with a downpour of rain as I arrived! That won’t be the last rain shower I see, as it is wet season here in Costa Rica!

I traveled to my organization destination for a tour and orientation. I also received my first assignment during my time here in CR. I will be working in Cartago at a nursing home. I will meet with the medical staff coordinator today and be given a tour of the facility I will be working at. I cannot wait to begin my journey here as a nurse! I’m thrilled to immerse myself in the Costa Rican culture and learn more about their society.

Speaking of cultural immersion, last night I was brought to my host home where I will be staying for the duration of my trip. I was most apprehensive of this aspect of coming to CR due to the language barrier. I have not taken a spanish class since my senior year of high school :o. A program coordinator also informed me the family I would be staying with were fairly new at hosting volunteers. I was a little anxious when pulling up to my host home having NO idea what to expect. My mind was quickly put at ease. Upon walking into the home, my heart was instantly warmed by the love I received from the entire family. It’s amazing how a little faith will go a long way. I would not even be in this beautiful country if I did not have faith that God would take care of me.

My host family has 4 children, 2 daughters and 2 sons. One of the daughters is 8 months pregnant and I will be here for her delivery! I am SO excited:D!!! Sweet, welcoming, loving and helpful are only a few attributes that makes up this precious family! From what I have gathered, family is a significant part of Costa Rican culture, which I absolutely adore.

Traditional addresses aren’t really a thing in Costa Rica. They prefer, ’10m east of the corner at the store, with a black porch’. Because of this, if you would like to send me any mail you will send it to my organization address:

De la Bomba San Pedro, 75 mts sur
Mano Izquierda, edificio blanco y azul
San Pedro Montes de Oca

I will be updating via wordpress (this blog) as much as possible!

Much love from CR,

AG xoxo

3 thoughts on “Buenos dias from San José! (MAILING ADDRESS INCLUDED)

  1. So happy you’ve arrived safe and sound Ariel. It comforts me to know you are happy with your host family.i miss you but will see you soon! Have an awesome first day in Costa Rica! Love, Mom 💗💗💗💗💗💗

    Like

  2. Great to hear all is going well for you Ariel. God is doing a good work through you dollface!

    Genesis 12:1-3
    The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you. “I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you;I will make your name great ,and you will be a blessing.I will bless those who bless you,and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.
    LOVE

    Like

  3. Ariel, We are so happy you are staying with at sweet family there in Cosa Rica. Remember we love and support you. Also we are are so happy you arrived safely.
    Praying for you. Love, Mamaw

    Like

Leave a Reply

